Das–Naglieri Cognitive Assessment System

Intelligence can be viewed through a number of lenses, and this IQ test focuses on assessing four kinds of intelligence: Planning; Attention; Simultaneous; and Successive. Originally, the Das-Naglieri test was designed to be an alternative to a standard IQ test. Developers J.P. Das and Jack Naglieri based the test on the PASS (Planning, Attention, Simultaneous, Successive) cognitive processing theory of intelligence and introduced it to the world in 1997.

What does the Das–Naglieri Cognitive Assessment System measure?

The Cas-Naglieri Cognitive Assessment System’s battery of tests covers each of the four previously mentioned elements – Planning, Attention, Simultaneous, and Successive and then those scores are used to generate a Full Scale score. Unlike other intelligence tests like the Wechsler test, the Cognitive Assessment System (CAS) and its PASS scale are designed to measure processes, not abilities. Each element of the CAS battery includes multiple subtests to gain an understanding of the subject’s processing skills in that area.

Planning Scale

The planning subtests include:

  • Matching numbers
  • Planned codes
  • Planned connections

The planning subtests are designed to gauge an individual’s ability to select or develop strategies to solve problems. Observers record results based on their observations as well as via a reported strategy once the individual has completed an item.

Attention Scale

The attention subtests include:

  • Expressive attention
  • Number detection
  • Receptive attention

The attention subtests are designed to measure a person’s ability to focus on specific elements of internal or external events.

Simultaneous Scale

The simultaneous subtests include:

  • Nonverbal matrices
  • Verbal spatial relations
  • Figure memory

The simultaneous scale is designed to measure a person’s nonverbal and verbal processing skills as they organize information into usable groups of information and/or a coherent whole.

Successive Scale

The successive subtests include:

  • Word series
  • Sentence repetition
  • Speech rate (for children aged 5-7) or sequence questions

The successive scale is designed to assess an individual’s ability to keep information organized by having them recall information in specific sequences. Depending on the test taker’s age, they may receive slightly different questions related to either speech rate or sequence questions.

Practical Applications of the Das–Naglieri Cognitive Assessment System

The CAS test is most often used in educational settings as a tool to understand and address cognitive development in children. It is also used frequently to research, diagnose and evaluate cognitive impairment in adults as they age. Interestingly, despite a lack of a component to measure vocabulary, the test has shown a strong correlation with predicting academic achievement. For this reason, the test has become popular in testing populations that may have struggles with literacy, as it can still provide valuable insights to a child’s cognitive processes. Additionally, the test has been used to understand, assess, and intervene for children and adolescents with autism, A.D.D., and mental retardation.